Leave a comment

This was his America he came home to

by Maria Dunnam Childers

First time my dad went to ‘Nam I just started Jr high…I remember having to write the paper about what we wanted for Christmas…(remembering thinking how dumb…our age group)so I wrote the only thing I wanted was my dad to come home for Christmas and how this would make the whole family happy.

Paper printed as we got out for Christmas break…I did not win…though when I walked up to the house…there was a man in the yard with gray hair. As I got closer it was my daddy…God answered my letter…he knew it was a prayer…oh my daddy…had so much gray… What a surprise…he took a cab so we did not have to see the way people welcomed soldiers home… He fought at Heartbreak Ridge…this was his America he came home to…what a disappointment…

 

Leave a Reply

